Nominations for OPEC Awards now open

No 28/2017
Vienna, Austria
22 Jun 2017

OPEC today called for nominations to be made for its two prestigious industry awards:  one for Journalism and another for Research.

As in previous years, the two awards are designed to honour distinguished individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the petroleum industry and oil-related issues, particularly in enhancing relations and cooperation between oil producers and consumers.

The OPEC Award for Journalism is given to an experienced journalist or media organization that has demonstrated a high level of integrity and innovative thinking throughout his/her career, and delivered objective and balanced reporting/analysis of the oil market and related issues for more than ten years.  It is open to both print and broadcast journalists.

The OPEC Award for Journalism is commemorated with a plaque and an official certificate. In addition, OPEC will make a donation of 6,000 euros on behalf of the winner to a charity or institution of his/her choice.

The OPEC Award for Research is given to researchers who have shown dedication to research and analysis of important oil-related issues, contributed to improving the understanding of the key determinants that support oil market stability, and have exhibited a consistently critical yet impartial view on oil-related issues in public debates and discourse.

The winner of the OPEC Award for Research will receive a commemorative plaque and 27,000 euros in prize money.

Both Awards will be presented by the President of the OPEC Conference on the occasion of the 7th OPEC International Seminar, scheduled to take place at the Imperial Hofburg Palace in Vienna, Austria, on 20-21 June 2018.

OPEC established the two Awards to acknowledge and celebrate the past efforts of journalists and researchers working in the oil industry, and to encourage objective reporting and future research projects.

The inaugural OPEC Award for Journalism was presented at the 4th OPEC International Seminar in 2009.  The OPEC Award for Research was first presented in 2004 at the 2nd OPEC International Seminar.

The deadline for nominations for both the 2018 OPEC Award for Journalism and the 2018 OPEC Award for Research is 5 September 2017.

Additional information about the two Awards, as well as application forms and instructions for submitting nominations, are available on the OPEC Website at:

OPEC Award for Journalism - Information and application form

Download document

OPEC Award for Research - Information and application form

Download document