Resolutions of the 143rd (Extraordinary) Meeting of the OPEC Conference

No 1/2007
Vienna, Austria
14 Jan 2007

The 143rd (Extraordinary) Meeting of the Conference of the Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries, held in Abuja, Federal Republic of Nigeria, on 14 December 2006, adopted the following Resolutions, which, in accordance with customary procedures, have been ratified by the Member Countries and are issued herewith:

Resolution No 143.426

The Conference,

considering the application for Membership presented by the Republic of Angola,

and in view of the fact that Angola fulfils the necessary qualifications for admission as laid down in the OPEC Statute,

admits the Republic of Angola as a new Member of the Organization.

Resolution No 143.427

The Conference,

upon the recommendation of the Board of Governors,

in accordance with the Statute and the Financial Regulations,


1. The Budget for the year 2007, totalling €22,000,000.

2. That the contribution payable by each Member Country shall be €2,000,000, payable in one instalment not later than 31 March 2007.

The Conference further approves that the budget contribution of the Republic of Angola, of €2,000,000, similarly payable in one instalment not later than 31 March 2007, shall be transferred to the Reserve Fund Account.

Resolution No 143.428

The Conference,

having regard to the rules laid down in the Statute of the Organization, in particular Article 28,


Mr Abdulla Salem El-Badri as Secretary General for a period of three (3) years, from 1 January 2007.

Done in Abuja, Nigeria, this fourteenth day of December 2006.

 Head of the Delegation of Algeria
Dr Chakib Khelil

 Head of the Delegation of Angola
Desidério da Graça Veríssimo e Costa

 Head of the Delegation of  Indonesia
Dr Purnomo Yusgiantoro

 Head of the Delegation of the
Islamic Republic of Iran
Sayed Kazem Vaziri Hamaneh

 Head of the Delegation of Iraq
Dr Hussain Al-Shahristani 

 Head of the Delegation of Kuwait
Sheikh Ali Jarrah Al-Sabah

 Head of the Delegation of the Socialist
People’s Libyan Arab Jamahiriya
Dr Shokri M. Ghanem

 Head of the Delegation of Nigeria
Dr Edmund M. Daukoru

 Head of the Delegation of Qatar
Abdullah bin Hamad Al-Attiyah

 Head of the Delegation of Saudi Arabia
Ali I. Naimi

 Head of the Delegation of
United Arab Emirates
Mohamed Bin Dhaen Al-Hamli

 Head of the Delegation of Venezuela
Rafael Ramírez