Congo facts and figures

Congo's Independence Day
Congo's Independence Day

15 August

Located in Central Africa, the Republic of the Congo is spread out over an area of 342,000 square kilometres. The country is bordered by Gabon and the Atlantic Ocean to the west, Cameroon to the northwest, the Central African Republic to the northeast, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the east and south, and Angola’s exclave of Cabinda to the southwest.

The capital and largest city in the country is Brazzaville, which has a population of roughly 1.8 million. The national currency is the CFA franc, which is used by five other countries in Africa, including fellow OPEC Members Equatorial Guinea and Gabon. French is the official language, although a number of local languages – such as Kituba and Lingala – are also widely spoken.

Apart from being a producer and net exporter of crude oil, the Republic of the Congo has solid agriculture, industry and handicraft sectors.

The current President of the Republic of the Congo is HE Denis Sassou Nguesso, who was elected in 1997 for the second time.

The Republic of the Congo became a Full Member of OPEC on 22 June 2018.

Did you know?

  • The Republic of the Congo possesses substantial reserves of crude oil and natural gas.
  • The capital of Brazzaville is situated on the shores of the Congo River, the world’s deepest and second longest river in Africa, after the Nile.

(More data will be published later on)

  • HE Jean-Marc Thystere Tchicaya

    HE Jean-Marc Thystere Tchicaya

    Minister of Hydrocarbons
    Head of Delegation

  • Mrs. Térésa Goma

    Mrs. Térésa Goma

    Governor for OPEC