Iraq facts and figures


Sharing borders with three other OPEC Member Countries – the Islamic Republic of Iran, Kuwait and Saudi Arabia – Iraq covers an area of around 438 thousand square kilometres. It has a population of almost 39 million, one fifth of which lives in the capital, Baghdad. Most Iraqis speak Arabic, although Kurdish is also used, especially in the northern part of the country.

Iraq attained its independence as a Kingdom in 1932. In 1958, a military coup d’état ended the monarchy, making Iraq a republic.

Apart from petroleum, Iraq’s other natural resources include natural gas, phosphates and sulphur. Its national currency is the dinar. The country has a varied landscape, which includes areas of desert, mountains and fertile regions.

Iraq’s President is HE Barham Salih. The country is a Founder Member of OPEC.

Did you know?

  • Baghdad was the largest multicultural city of the Middle Ages and was the centre of learning during the Islamic Golden Age.
  • Iraq’s Kirkuk oilfield consists of three domes – Baba, Avanah and Khurmala. It was at the Baba dome that the country’s first productive oil well was drilled in 1927.

Below data covers 2017

Population (million inhabitants) 38.960
Land area (1,000 sq km) 438
Population density (inhabitants per sq km) 89
GDP per capita ($) 4,908
GDP at market prices (million $) 191,216
Value of exports (million $) 63,314
Value of petroleum exports (million $) 59,730
Current account balance (million $) 15,744
Proven crude oil reserves (million barrels) 147,223
Proven natural gas reserves (billion cu. m.) 3,744
Crude oil production (1,000 b/d) 4,468.7
Marketed production of natural gas (million cu. m.) 10,650.3
Refinery capacity (1,000 b/cd) 640
Output of petroleum products (1,000 b/d) 486
Oil demand (1,000 b/d) 794.0
Crude oil exports (1,000 b/d) 3,802.0
Exports of petroleum products (1,000 b/d) 20.1
Natural gas exports (million cu. m.) --

  • b/d (barrels per day)
  • cu. m. (cubic metres)
  • b/cd (barrels per calendar day)

Source: Annual Statistical Bulletin 2018

  • HE Thamir Abbas Al Ghadhban

    HE Thamir Abbas Al Ghadhban

    Deputy Prime Minister for Energy Affairs and Minister of Oil
    Head of Delegation

    Download CV
  • Mr. Alaa K. Alyasri

    Mr. Alaa K. Alyasri

    Governor for OPEC

  • Mr. Ali Nazar Faeq Al-Shatari

    Mr. Ali Nazar Faeq Al-Shatari

    National Representative