Angola facts and figures

Angola's Independence Day
Angola's Independence Day

11 November

Located on the Atlantic coast in the southern part of Africa, the Republic of Angola is the second largest oil producer in Africa.

It has a population of around 30.2 million and is bordered by Zambia to the east, Namibia to the south and the Democratic Republic of Congo to the north. Its capital city is Luanda and the national currency is the kwanza. Portuguese is its official language, but Bantu and other African languages are also spoken. Angola gained independence from Portugal in 1975.

Angola’s impressive economic growth rate is being driven by its oil sector. Oil production and its supporting activities contribute about 50 per cent of the nation’s gross domestic product and around 89 per cent of exports.

Angola’s President is HE João Manuel Gonçalves Lourenço. The country joined OPEC in 2007.

Did you know?

  • Angola’s most important river is the Cuanza, from which the country’s currency derives its name.
  • Angola first produced oil from the Benfica oilfield in the Cuanza Basin in 1955.

Below data covers 2019

Population (million inhabitants) 30.18
Land area (1,000 sq km) 1,248
GDP per capita ($) 2,709
GDP at market prices (million $) 81,759
Value of exports (million $) 33,755
Value of petroleum exports (million $) 32,246
Current account balance (million $) 4,839
Proven crude oil reserves (million barrels) 7,783
Proven natural gas reserves (billion cu. m.) 343
Crude oil production (1,000 b/d) 1,372.8
Marketed production of natural gas (million cu. m.) 10,546.1
Refinery capacity (1,000 b/cd) 80.3
Output of petroleum products (1,000 b/d) 54.9
Oil demand (1,000 b/d) 122.2
Crude oil exports (1,000 b/d) 1,318.7
Exports of petroleum products (1,000 b/d) 16.8
Natural gas exports (million cu. m.) 582.3

  • b/d (barrels per day)
  • cu. m. (cubic metres)
  • b/cd (barrels per calendar day)

Source: Annual Statistical Bulletin 2020

  • HE Dr. Diamantino Pedro Azevedo

    HE Dr. Diamantino Pedro Azevedo

    Minister of Mineral Resources and Petroleum

    President of the Conference

    Head of Delegation

    Download CV
  • Mr. Estévâo Pedro

    Mr. Estévâo Pedro

    Governor for OPEC

  • Mr. Ntika Mbiya Ricardo

    Mr. Ntika Mbiya Ricardo

    National Representative