OPEC Names Two Winners for its 2015 Awards

No 1/2015
Vienna, Austria
04 Jun 2015

The Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) announced this year’s recipients of the OPEC Award for Research and the OPEC Award for Journalism at a Gala Dinner held at Vienna City Hall on Wednesday, June 3. The event was part of the 6th OPEC International Seminar.

Dr. Vaclav Smil, Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the University of Manitoba in Canada, was the recipient of the OPEC Award for Research. The Award was given in recognition of his life-long academic work and publications in the field of energy economics and petroleum.

Ms. Margaret McQuaile, a long-time reporter for Platts news service, was the recipient of the OPEC Award for Journalism. The Award was given in recognition of the detailed reporting, economic understanding and political acumen that characterize her journalism work.

The winners were chosen from several nominees by panels of independent experts, knowledgeable decision makers and authorities, which met several times before declaring the victors.

The OPEC Award for Research was first given in 2004. It honours academics, analysts and researchers who have devoted their careers to the objective study, balanced analysis and understanding of the energy sector.

The OPEC Award for Journalism was established in 2009 to recognize journalists whose careers have been devoted to the balanced and objective reporting of energy and petroleum — and who have contributed to improving the public’s understanding of the industry.

OPEC would like to congratulate this year’s award winners on their valuable contributions and reiterate the Organization’s commitment to insightful research and objective reporting.