Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea facts and figures

Equatorial Guinea's Independence Day
Equatorial Guinea's Independence Day

12 October

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea is located in Central Africa. The country consists of an insular region, made up of several islands, and a mainland region named after the Río Muni. The mainland region is bordered by Cameroon to the north, and Gabon to the south and east. On the west, the Río Muni region overlooks the Gulf of Guinea. Equatorial Guinea covers an area of 28,051 square kilometres and is inhibited by approximately 870,000 residents.

The capital city is Malabo, which has a population of 145,000 persons, while the seat of government is in Oyala. The country’s currency is the CFA franc, a currency used by five other countries in Africa, including OPEC Member Country Gabon. The official language of Equatorial Guinea is Spanish. French and Portuguese are widely used, too.

While the African nation is a producer and net exporter of crude oil, it is also a key producer and exporter of natural gas. In former times, Equatorial Guinea exported coffee, timber and cocoa.

The current President of Equatorial Guinea is HE Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo. He was elected in 1979.

Equatorial Guinea became a full member of OPEC on 25 May 2017.

Did you know?

  • Equatorial Guinea discovered its large oil reserves in 1996, a development that led to the economic transformation of the country.
  • The residents of Equatorial Guinea have the highest literacy rate of Sub-Saharan Africa.

(More data will be published later on)

  • HE Gabriel Mbaga Obiang Lima

    HE Gabriel Mbaga Obiang Lima

    Minister of Industry, Mines & Energy
    Head of Delegation