ecuador banner

Ecuador facts and figures

Ecuador's National Day:
Ecuador's National Day:

10 August

Ecuador comprises an area of around 284 thousand square kilometres and has a population of approximately 16 million. The country straddles the equator, from which it derives its name. Located in Latin America, it is bordered in the north by Colombia, in the east and south by Peru and in the west by the Pacific Ocean. Its capital city is Quito and Spanish is the official language.

Apart from oil, Ecuador also exports bananas, shrimp, coffee, cocoa, cut flowers and fish. The country is a haven for many exotic animals and birds like the blue footed booby, and the orange iguana, both of which can be found in the Galapagos Islands.

Ecuador’s President is Rafael Correa Delgado. The country joined OPEC in 1973. Nineteen years later, in 1992, it voluntarily suspended its membership. It resumed membership of the Organization in 2007.

Did you know?

  • Ecuador’s capital city Quito was declared a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in the 1970s for having the best preserved and least altered historic centre in Latin America.
  • Located in the Santa Elena Peninsula, Ancon 1 is Ecuador’s first productive oil well. It began producing oil in 1921.

Population (million inhabitants) 15.50
Land area (1,000 sq km) 284
Population density (inhabitants per sq km) 55
GDP per capita ($) 4,621
GDP at market prices (billion $) 71.63
Value of exports (billion $) 23.90
Value of petroleum exports (billion $) 13.73
Current account balance (billion $) - 0.20
Proven crude oil reserves (billion barrels) 8.24
Proven natural gas reserves (billion cu. m.) 6.00
Crude oil production (1,000 b/d) 504
Marketed production of natural gas (billion cu. m.) 0.52
Refinery capacity (1,000 b/d) 188
Output of petroleum products (1,000 b/d) 132.9
Oil demand (1,000 b/d) 264
Crude oil exports (1,000 b/d) 358
Exports of petroleum products (1,000 b/d) 27.5
Natural gas exports (billion cu. m.) --

  • b/d (barrels per day)
  • cu. m. (cubic metres)

Source: Annual Statistical Bulletin 2013

  • HE Eng. Pedro Merizalde-Pavón

    HE Eng. Pedro Merizalde-Pavón

    Minister of Non-Renewable Natural Resources
    Head of Delegation

    Download CV
  • Mr. Wilson Pástor-Morris

    Mr. Wilson Pástor-Morris

    Governor for OPEC


  • Dr. Andrés Miño Ron

    Dr. Andrés Miño Ron

    National Representative